Gravity Summit

We had the opportunity to watch the Gravity Summit (#gravsum) at Harvard today in social media marketing class. It was fun to watch the few speakers we caught and to participate in the Twitter conversation. I’m not a huge Tweeter usually, I don’t like putting clutter up if I don’t have anything to contribute that I deem important. But chatting during the conference was really engaging.

What stuck out to me the most was the presentation by Adriel Hampton talking about the possibility of a new currency forming through social media. The idea of Facebook credits or other gaming and reputational currency becoming real and usable in the real world blows my mind! Can you imagine paying for things in stores over your phone, or using your social media presence to pay for something?

Would being a successful farmer in Farmville really get me something/somewhere in life? I can’t fathom it . . . but what about all of the YouTube sensations who have been paid to record their opinions? I this what is already starting to happen? Or mommy bloggers that have the trust (and free product) of thousands of other women? Its given me a lot to ponder and think about.

My closing tweet:

@Ramon_DeLeon I’m inspired, let’s give them something to talk about. #gravsum #smmbyu

Own your presence, develop it, and tell your story.

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gravity Summit

  1. Thanks for participating from afar, and thanks for the kind words! NationBuilder is pretty big in Utah – feel free to encourage folks to make greater use of our Political Currency feature. http://nationbuilder.com/how_to_political_capital

  2. Your post inspired me. I am so glad that you want to “Own your presence, develop it, and tell your story.” Keep it up!

  3. Pingback: Recent Press | Gravity Summit

Leave a Reply

