Props to my SEO trainers

Before returning to grad school I worked for SEO.com. They taught me everything, starting at the very basic of search engine optimization to the high points of generating links and social media buzz. I really enjoyed the people there, and had great trainers. Pretty sure at least a few of them are still with the company, many have been hired out for their mad skills.

This past October the company was named #1 by Website Magazine, way to go!

Oh SEO, because of you I get annoyed by bad URLs and fake blogs that show up when I search in Google. Because of you I check out redirects and page ranks. Because of you I understand the value of new content and discussions about the value of no-follow links.

Obviously all of the website stuff is important, but social media is getting all the hype these days. We even have college classes dedicated to it. Last year my class did a project for a huge CPG company, and competed to create the best social media driven launch for a new product. My group based our entire project around a mobile app with integrated game, others did a bus tour, and other a YouTube video contest. Amazing experience here at the Marriott School set up by really active and supportive alumni.

So can you be successful nowadays without facebook, youtube, twitter, linkedin, google+ or any of the others? Or without knowing how to get your website to show up in the search engines? Probably, unless your a business owner or marketer. Your dead in the water without these low cost tools in your toolbelt. Agree?

Source: http://www.seo.com/blog/seocom-named-top-search-marketing-agency-website-magazine/ Greg Shuey

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

