Facebook, You’re Killing Me. (and yourself)

Looks like Datamation wrote a little more broadly than I did about Facebook copying some of the Google+ features, like lists. They talk about Facebooks success being based mainly on perfect timing, where the adoption process, and the funding, and everything else all aligned to help it become so successful. But there is a history of previously popular technology services that later lost their momentum (AOL, Yahoo, etc.)

The article states, “Facebook used to be special. But now social is everywhere. Facebook finds itself trying to sell snow to Eskimos.” Facebook doesnt know what people want; many of their new ideas have failed. Their email service failed. Their location tagging failed. And in my humble opinion the changes that they implemented to the new feed today FAILED. I know Facebook doesn’t listen to it’s audience because the masses always complain when something changes, then learn to accept it. It has happened every time. However, this time our whole page has changed functionally. The same top stories are on my page all day, and I have to scroll down quite far to get the the recent news I’m actually interested in. What a pain! I will be checking my newsfeed much less often. I am also one of those who are angry and confused about the 2nd newsfeed on the side telling me all sorts of realtime information about people I dont know becoming friends or wishing each other Happy Birthday. Seriously? Let me have the option to TURN THIS OFF. I could control my feed before by silencing certain people. Ok, then let me silence Facebook.

This was a Horrible Idea. I could deal with the lists because you weren’t forced into them, and could customize them. The feed now allows me much less customization. Get rid of these annoying blue tags that are supposed to be stories we’re interested in. They aren’t.

Ok, that’s my venting for the day. You can find me on Google+.

Source: http://www.datamation.com/networks/why-facebook-is-the-new-yahoo-1.html

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook, You’re Killing Me. (and yourself)

  1. Rhett says:

    Wow interesting thoughts on the new design.

  2. It’s insane how many people are totally hating what FB is doing

  3. Joel Tobey says:

    I love how Facebook has basically admitted that they don’t know what you really want to see in your news feed. You have to “subscribe” to your friends and pages you want to make sure you don’t miss. I’m sure Google+ could figure this out…

  4. I loved your rant and the fact that you backed it up with quotes. It truly is amazing how many people hate the changes but Facebook is so large that they really don’t seem to care.

Leave a Reply

