I Should Have Been An ISYS Major

The Digital Talent Gap – By DAMIAN GHIGLIOTTY
Talk about a skills mismatch. Advertising technology companies are struggling to fill positions that require serious quantitative and technical capabilities, the New York Times reported. That has given the rare candidates who fit the bill an unusual advantage in today’s job market: the ability to pick their employer and very often name their price. “The demand has far outstripped the supply,” Joe Zawadzki, chief executive of the New York-based ad tech company MediaMath told the Times. “The number of things that you need to know is high and the number of people that have grown up knowing it is low.” MediaMath is one of the many companies looking to fill positions right now. For job seekers looking to get into the market, keep an eye out for the ad:tech interactive advertising technology conference when it hits New York’s Javits Convention Center next week.

This is the reason I decided to come back to school after working at such a good search engine optimization company as SEO.com. I knew it was the future, and a critical skill for a marketer. But I also knew that to be excellent and stand out in the SEO field you really need to be strong technically. It helps to be able to code and understand code in order to see how elements are interacting on a web page. I am not a programmer in the loosest sense. I know the basic rules and techniques, and find new knowledge and practices fascinating, but I cannot work with the back end more than very, very basic HTML. In regards to this article, I understand Google Adwords and such, but I do not know about real buying and selling of advertising space on the Internet. This is why we hire people. If I had been an ISYS major and continued into the Internet industry from SEO.com I really wouldn’t have needed to go back to school – apparently I’d be setting my own salary at a media buying firm right now instead.

I love what I do, and persuing brand management, but dang. It’d be nice to be in that kind of a high demand position!

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Should Have Been An ISYS Major

  1. Joel Tobey says:

    I echo wanting to be in that high of demand. Maybe I should look in this…

Leave a Reply

