Pay With a Tweet

How strong is your social network? This new concept and website allows you to sell your influence and connections on the social networking site, Twitter, to companies and causes. According to the site, the tweet my friend sent out that made me aware of this movement probably got him a electronic version of the company’s book for free.

Now I see why companies would want to tap into the strength of someone’s social network connections. We all know that people will trust their friends advice and recommendations long before they will trust anything coming from a company spokesperson. However, I wonder how the judge the worth of a Tweet to see if its worth it for them. Do they compensate you based on your number of followers? Or will they require that you post your Klout score so she how much you influence those that follow you? Or will leader and newbie alike be compensated the same for their Tweet endorsements?

This looks like a great thing for companies, but as a member of society I think I will find it more than a little annoying if it actually takes off. I get enough advertisements on posters and billboards, on TV advertisements and website banners, on my phone and in my mailbox. I feel constantly bombarded by companies trying to be a part of my consideration set, and paid solicitations from my friends is just one more avenue that I don’t want. I do not want 50 of my friends tweeting the same thing because they get a coupon or freebie for doing it – that ins’t a real endorsement. That is more likely to get me to tweet the same thing my friends did so that I can cash in too. But it doesn’t encourage me to buy from the company or do my business will them in the future because my friends superficially liked them.

Check out the site and let me know what you think: http://paywithatweet.com/

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

