What do you want to be when you grow up?

I couldn’t help but laugh when one of my roommates told me about her job search. She wanted a job where she could set her own hours, make good money, do something she really enjoys, and not have to sell. I know of very few jobs that you can set your own hours unless you start your own business. However she had seen a friend of hers make tons of money off of ebay, and other friends have successful ventures and was lured in by the idea of easy money.

The idea of easy money is prevalent everywhere these days! Just turn on the television; on one channel there is show after show about selling old junk for large sums (pawn shop, antiques, and garbage picking). Flipping houses is still popular, and many websites exist solely to make commission on your purchases from their advertisers – they don’t have any original content at all. Is seems it is the rare person these days who dreams of working an 8  am to 5pm like their parents (4am to 8pm if you have farmers in your lineage!)

I don’t see any problem with trying to find a job you love, but I do think many members of my generation and the next have unrealistic expectations about the working world. In order to bring home a decent paycheck you have to be bringing in a lot of money to the company you work for. You aren’t always going to be able to work 4 hours a day and earn $60,000; I’ve never been able to accomplish that actually. But I am worried that this is the current expectation. I saw it in my roommate when she almost answered a shady easy-money craigslist ad. I saw it when I talked to my younger cousins about their future plans and they expect high level salaries without gaining specialized skills.

“In other words, you can work to achieve greatness, or you can work in your underwear for two hours a day. The two rarely go together.”
– http://www.nytimes.com/2007/08/11/business/11online.html

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in Personal, School. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. Um, yes and yes! This is so true!! I’ve heard this many times myself, and quite frankly wouldn’t mind making $60k for 4 days work/week from home. If your roomie finds a legit opportunity and makes it big, feel free to pass along the info. In the meantime, I’m going to do it the old-fashioned way… work, work, and more hard WORK! 🙂

Leave a Reply

