Creativity Loves Constraints

“…but they must be balanced with a healthy disregard for the impossible” – Marissa Ann Mayer

In my entrepreneurial marketing class we spend the beginning of class brainstorming potential business ideas. Last week we came up with brand new ideas and improvements for clocks, and this week was based on the dog and cat market. Something about these exercises that really stuck out to me was that if we had not been given a category – I would have been stuck and unable to come up with any new thoughts at all. The potential task is too big and overwhelming; inclusive of every new idea that could ever be thought up. However, because we were given tighter constraints my team was able to come up with several ideas that seemed to fill a real need.

I mean, why do we not yet have rings or watches that work as vibrating alarm clocks so you don’t need to wake up your spouse in the morning? 🙂

 

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creativity Loves Constraints

Leave a Reply

