Dating Despite Social Media

Ok, I couldn’t resist. This article was so funny, and so painful, because it is so true! (Kind of like watching “He’s Just Not That Into You”)

Here it is: 10 Tips for Dating in the Social Media Age. The article talks about how you now can find out exactly what the person who turned you down is doing instead of going out with you. Creating paranoia and fear about a relationship that most likely is based on nothing. In my experience, social media has hampered more relationships for me before they even began. When I was single, I would look up a guy’s social media profile if he asked me out or if I was interested in him – check out his pictures and interests and friends – which usually didn’t go well. It was hard to not make judgments and assumptions that may or may not have been fair; thus ending any possibility of dating before I even got to know him.

My favorite advice from the article – (1) Don’t check in at , Tweet, or blog all about your date. The world doesn’t need to know every up and down in the relationship, every good and bad trait, and if they see it . . . I doubt it would work out well. And once you are dating, the world doesn’t need a timeline of every date, every fight, every makeup, and so on. (2) Chill! Don’t FB stalk, don’t friend their friends and family before you really know them, and don’t freak out if they check in close to your location without stopping by!

Social media can completely change the dating game if you let it, but you don’t have to. I suggest not making social media the third wheel in your relationship.

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dating Despite Social Media

  1. Joel Tobey says:

    I’m soooo glad I didn’t have to deal with this while I was dating. I agree that you should never friend your significant other’s mom. I might do that after marriage. And that’s a might.

    I do not look forward to how things will be 10+ years from now when my kids enter the dating scene. They’ll probably have to deal with this even before then. And if I keep them off, they’ll be made fun of or bullied. Isn’t life fun?

  2. On a very sad note, I found a news of a girl committing suicide on account of her boyfriend’s changing status over Facebook. Now who bears the responsibility when you live in a house of glasses? http://tinyurl.com/6s6hode

  3. Rhett says:

    Kids these days….

    The best way (or so I’ve heard) to get someone more interested in you digitally is to set your Facebook to completely private and not tweet/blog/checkin/wulphf anything. The secretiveness makes you more mysterious and desirable. (unless you are a creepy dude…. Then it just makes you more creepy)

Leave a Reply

