Facebook Timeline – Not all bad?

I have ranted and raved about how much I hate Facebook timeline. (I still an not a big fan of the last news feed pages they made) When I visit a friends page who has timeline I bounce instantly because I find it so difficult to read and navigate. A few times I heard it compared to MySpace profiles – which always looked like a mess. Timeline has done more to limit my Facebook “stalking” than anything else they have ever done – surfing profiles just isn’t as entertaining now.

HOWEVER – I found this article today on Mashable, Facebook Timeline Brand Pages are Here. It appears that some critics are acclaiming the possibilities for brands on timeline, with the increased visual customization and administrator tools. Could there be something good about timeline??? Maybe. Here’s a comparison of each.

New timeline design, does it make you like it more?:

On the previous profiles you had multiple pages for discussions, pictures, and events, which you could choose between to be your landing page on FB. Timeline profiles seem to just place you on the wall no matter what, and other pages look like a bunch of photo albums next to your information. I might think the aesthetics are getting a little too much attention for what they are, BUT I am impressed by the admin tools.

You have many more options, including a page to invite your friends to support a brand, host your blog, take quizes, see maps, and so on. These are amazing tools to expand a brand’s sharability and attractiveness to visitors and fans. I can;t wait to implement a bunch of these new tools on my favorite cause’s FB page, too bad it hasn’t been moved to timeline yet. Once it is I’ll be able to make a much better assessment of the brand building potential.

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook Timeline – Not all bad?

  1. It’s going to take a little getting used to, but I think you’re right — and Facebook’s right — that these timeline pages are going to be superior for brands than the old ones. BTW – saw your Dell screen shot above and it reminded me of Dell’s new “store” on FB that my bro-in-law is creating — check it out! I’m curious to see how it’ll look with the new timeline… https://www.facebook.com/DellBusiness?sk=app_392111604135941

Leave a Reply

