The iPad “New”

I’m going to keep this short because I am far from being an iPad or tablet expert, but my social media feeds have been filled for days about the new iPad. Every comment and story I have heard has been quite negative, and even iPad users are choosing to stick to the iPad 2. You see how low the market thinks of the new offering when you see moves like this: eBay Instant Sale Offers Up to $475 for Your Old iPad. That’s almost as much as the new iPad retail!

“It’s obvious to me that most tablet manufacturers are running out of ways to differentiate their products. A good number of the tablets I saw in Barcelona at Mobile World Congress were indistinguishable from one another. At least the iPad New is recognizably, uniquely Apple. Perhaps Apple’s next iPad design is so radical that it can’t be accomplished in a year.” – 
http://mashable.com/2012/03/07/new-ipad-did-not-blow-my-mind/

But I can’t help thinking, will the new tablet really be that much of a flop? Apple priced it relatively inexpensively by their own standards, and it does have a nicer display . . . so will tablet users eventually come over to the new iPad? I don’t believe the new iPad will ever be as big as a hit as its predecessor; it not quite so revolutionary. However, I could definitely see it being attractive to a certain segment – people who use their tablets for a lot of television and movie watching for example might be swayed by the screen size.

Biggest bummer of the whole thing for me – That because the iPad New isn’t going to make everyone run out and switch, the resale value of iPad 2’s is going to stay really high. I was hoping to score one cheap now that it was “old”!

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in School, Social Media Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

