Seasons 8-10?

Does anyone else feel loyalty to a show, long after its writing and story lines have deteriorated beyond repair? I know I do. I catch myself watching shows that are over-the-top and disappointing just because I liked the first couple seasons and I want to finish out the series.

By Andy Dolphin

Case in point: I have always been a huge Bones fan. But the last season or two have only had a couple of decent, entertaining episodes. The characters have pretty much become caricatures of themselves at this point – way exaggerated and silly. Even though I recognize this, and it bothers me every time, I keep watching every new episode.

Even more unbelievably, I am still watching One Tree Hill episodes on Hulu. I mean really, how many murders, kidnappings, and betrayals can happen to these ten people? Each of these events happen over and over every season. So why do I keep tuning in? 

I don’t think I’m the only one who does this. Just about all of the comments on these videos are negative from frustrated viewers – but they’re watching these lame episodes too, right?

I don’t know exactly who is responsible for keeping these shows on long after they have lost their flavor, but I wish they would stop. When the story lines run dry, then give us a great series finale and end it. We’ll remember the show positively, we’ll be happy, and it won’t become a bad punchline. Plus, you’ll make room for some newer, fresher, and less disappointing shows.

About hayjo

Graduating in April from Brigham Young Unversity's Marriott School of Management, and have loved all of my time here! My husband and I will then be moving to Texas this summer just in time for it to be really heating up down there. I'm a reader, a volleyball player, and am happiest spending when time with my family. I am not a natural blogger and just writing can be a struggle, but it's great practice for the future.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

